Show/Hide
Our website will be undergoing maintenance on Thursday, December 20 after 11 p.m. PST. You may experience intermittent outages during this window of time. We apologize for any inconvenience.

City Council and Elected Officials

Print
Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

The City of Torrance is a Charter City governed as a Council/Manager form of government. The City Council is comprised of the Mayor and six City Council members who are elected at large by registered voters of the City. The Mayor and Councilmembers each serve a four-year term. The City of Torrance has a two-term limit for the City Council. The City Clerk and City Treasurer are elected every four years and do not have term limits. Elections are held every two years, on the even year.

In the Council/Manager form of government, the City Council, as the elected body, adopts legislation, sets policy, adjudicates issues and establishes the budget of the City. The City Council appoints the City Manager and the City Attorney. The City Manager is charged with the duty of implementing City Council policy and laws as the administering head of the government. The City Council appoints volunteers to serve on various advisory boards, commissions and committees. Councilmembers and the Mayor may serve as representatives on intergovernmental and regional boards, commissions and committees as part of their elected capacity. Councilmembers and the Mayor are directly accountable to the electorate and must constantly balance the views of individuals and groups with the needs of the entire community.

Correspondence to all Torrance elected officials can be addressed to them at 3031 Torrance Blvd., Torrance, CA 90503.

City Council Rules of Order

Mayor Patrick J. FureyPatrick J. Furey, Mayor
 Phone:   (310) 618-2801
 Fax: (310) 618-5841
 PFurey@TorranceCA.Gov
 Profile
 
2018 State of the City Address: Transcript     Introduction Video  Speech Video

2017 State of the City Address: Transcript     Introduction Video  Speech Video
2016 State of the City Address: Transcript     Introduction Video   Speech Video

 

Chen, George K. - 2018(2) - Headshot George K. Chen, Councilmember
 Phone:   (310) 618-2801
 Fax: (310) 618-5841
 GChen@TorranceCA.Gov
 Profile

 

Tim Goodrich - 2014 - Headshot Tim Goodrich, Councilmember
  Phone:   (310) 618-2801
  Fax: (310) 618-5841
  TGoodrich@TorranceCA.Gov
  Profile

 

Mike Griffiths crop  Mike Griffiths, Councilmember
  Phone:   (310) 781-7667
  Fax: (310) 618-5841
  MGriffiths@TorranceCA.Gov
  Profile

 

Herring, Milton S - 2016(2) - Headshot

 Milton S. Herring, I, Councilmember
 Phone:   (310) 618-2801
 Fax: (310) 618-5841
 MHerring@TorranceCA.Gov
 Profile

 

Mattucci, Aurelio - 2018(2) - Headshot

   Aurelio Mattucci, Councilmember
   Phone:   (310) 618-2801
   Fax: (310) 618-5841
   AMattucci@TorranceCA.Gov
   Profile

 

Geoff Rizzo - 2014 - Headshot  Geoff Rizzo, Councilmember
  Phone:   (310) 618-2801
  Fax: (310) 618-5841
  GRizzo@TorranceCA.Gov
  Profile

 

Rebecca Poirier - 2014 - 600 DPI  Rebecca Poirier, City Clerk
  Phone:   (310) 618-2801
  Fax: (310) 618-5841
  RPoirier@TorranceCA.Gov
  Profile

 

Dana Cortez, July 2010  Dana Cortez, City Treasurer
  Phone:   (310) 618-2801
  Fax: (310) 618-5841
  DCortez@TorranceCA.Gov
  Profile

2017 State of the City Address: Transcript     Introduction Video  Speech Video