Visiting? Relocating? Check out the Torrance Advantage  Open Gov  Torrance Alerts

 TORRANCE california

City Manager
City Manager
 | 2008 TCtv Awards

font size: A | A | A


Eight Torrance producers received coveted prizes at the 17th Annual Torrance Community Television (TCtv) Awards held Friday, January 23rd in the Torrance Cultural Arts Center's Toyota Meeting Hall.  The awards ceremony, themed "A Classic Look Into a Class Act," recognized the efforts of TCtv producers for excellence in programming, creating original video that was cablecast on Torrance Channel 28 (Time Warner and Verizon FiOS Cable System) throughout the year 2008.

In addition to the programming category winners listed below, a special award - the Producer of the Year Award - that honors the producer who "best utilized the TCtv facilities" went to Joel Munoz

After being judged by an independent panel of professionals in the television business, the 17th Annual TCtv Award Winners are:





 Scott Corum

 Uncle Drac's
Magical Funhouse


  Joel Munoz

  Behind the Scenes
Photo Shoot


  Jerry Cohen -
Powerful Productions

 Not Your Average Show
with Greg Nesbitt


 Derek & Zurlene -
Crunch Media

 Hard to Believe
SOG Music Video


 W. Alex Mackey, III

 Lemonade Stand


  Michael R. Blevins/
Lilach Cohen
Derek & Zurlene -
Crunch Media

 Esther's New Talent Show #1
MMT CD Release Party

The TCtv Awards, also known as the "Stanley's," were named in honor of the late Stanley E. Remelmeyer, Torrance's former City Attorney who was instrumental in the development of cable television in the City.  Through the awards ceremony, the City encourages quality programming by the community and introduces the public to the purpose and benefits of public access television.  The City of Torrance has provided public access to its residence since 1987.

This year's ceremony was sponsored by Exxon Mobil, City of Torrance, and Torrance Public Access Foundation; with California State University Dominguez Hills' award winning Jazz Ensemble providing entertainment.